Apr 24, 2012

Aesop Rock - Zero Dark Thirty (new)

I've been so excited about this release since I first heard the news, that I haven't even been able to figure out how to write about it! But it's time to just get it out and share, one of my favourite underground poets, Aesop Rock is set to release his first solo effort since his most commerically successful LP, 2007's None Shall Pass. That's not to say Ace Rizzle hasn't been busy for the past five years, he produced Slug and Murs third Felt album, along with working with Moldy Peaches singer Kimya Dawson (known best for dominating the Juno soundtrack), Hail Mary Mallon, the Uncluded, launching 900bats.com, touring and more. But he's finally ready to bring his creativity back to the beginning with Skelethon, which is set to release July 10th on Rhymesayers.

The cameos featured on the album are not your usual Rhymesayers players and include Kimya Dawson, Allyson Baker of Dirty Ghosts, Hanni El Khatib, Nicky Fleming-Yaryan, Rob Sonic, DJ Big Wiz and Philly-based psych-rock-jazz trio the Grimace Federation. It should also be noted that the album artwork is courtesy of Barcelona-based street artist Aryz. The tracklist is below along with the first episode of Aesop's new viral Skelethon series and your first taste of what to expect from Skelethon.
1. Leisureforce
2. ZZZ Top
3. Cycles To Gehenna
4. Zero Dark Thirty
5. Fryerstarter
6. Ruby ’81
7. Crows 1
8. Crows 2
9. Racing Stripes
10. 1,000 O’Clock
11. Homemade Mummy
12. Grace
13. Saturn Missiles
14. Tetra
15. Gopher Guts
Aesop Rock - Zero Dark Thirty

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails